Duke Of Edinburgh

We are pleased to introduce the internationally recognized Duke of Edinburgh's award.

Fundamental Principles:

  • Individual challenge by choice - reflect on own interests, abilities and ambitions and set challenges in each of the 4 sections.

  • The Award is voluntary, not forced. The activities have to be pursued during their leisure time.

  • There is no failure. Participants work at their own pace - remember its not a sprint but a marathon.

Operational Principles:

  • Age range: 13½ - 25 years

  • Balanced Programme of 4 sections

  • There are three levels:

Level of award Minimum age of entry Minimum duration
Bronze 13.5 6 months
Silver 15 12 months
Gold 16 18 months

For each award participants have to complete the requirements of each of the 4 different sections. Qualifying standards are measured in terms of progress, proficiency and sustained effort.

Programme Sections:

  • Service: to learn how to give useful service to others.

  • Skills: to encourage development of personal interests and practical skills.

  • Physical Recreation: recreation activities, physical fitness and improvement of performance.

  • Adventurous Journey: to encourage spirit of adventure and Discovery whilst undertaking a journey in a group.

  • Residential Project (Gold level): to broaden experience through involvement with others in a residential setting.


On completion of the award the participant receives a certificate and a badge.